Forman Parliamentary Debating Competition 2010 (FPDC 2010) Nov12


Related Posts

Share This

Forman Parliamentary Debating Competition 2010 (FPDC 2010)

The All-Pakistan Parliamentary Debating Championship 2010 took place at Forman Christian College from 5 to 8 November 2010. This year’s event was a massive success with more than 400 participants coming from all over Pakistan. There were 22 Urdu teams and 28 English teams; it was the biggest parliamentary debating gathering of the year. GCU, GIKI, LUMS, LSE, LGS, KC, SICAS, SISA, PU, UOL, FAST Lahore, FAST Islamabad, Beaconhouse, SOP, UCL, Salamat Girls, KIMS, City School and Defence Degree College for Women were the participating institutes.

The event provided all the debaters a platform to let loose their fiery debating skills, speak their heart out, release their inner debater and re-discover the true orator within themselves. After the tough battle Lahore School of Economics (LSE) and University College Lahore (UCL) lifted the Urdu and English trophies respectively. Sharreh Qazi won the Rose Petal Award for the best speaker while Salman Naveed Butt was the best adjudicator of the tournament.

The President of Forman Debating Society, Ain-ul-Abideen Mughal; the General Secretary, Anum Malik, and Vice-President, Mohammad Adeel along with the event coordinators played an important role in making the event a huge success. The Management of the college and advisors of the Debating Society: Alvina Waseem and Dr Ghafoor Shah Qasim also deserve credit for successfully completing the event.

This year’s event got mileage and publicity with Pakistan Today as the official print media partner and FM 89 as the official radio partner. The students also displayed their entrepreneurship by attaining a sponsorship from Rose Petal.