FDS Hosts 5th All Pakistan Tetra-Lingual Declamation Championship Nov20


Related Posts

Share This

FDS Hosts 5th All Pakistan Tetra-Lingual Declamation Championship

The Formanites Debating Society hosted the 5th All Pakistan Tetra-Lingual Declamation Championship, from the 12th to 13th of November, 2014.

A total of 63 (2 members team each) teams from all over Pakistan participated in this linguistically diverse event. The four languages that were represented included English, Urdu, Pashto and Punjabi. The first day brought with itself an influx of eager participants from different universities from all over the country.

The initial rounds for English and Urdu were held on day one of the competition, in E-25. This round was presided over by the President of the Debating Society, Waqar Karim, and the Secretary General, ShayanShaukat. The round began with the recitation of the Holy Quran and the Holy Bible. Salman Afzal and Gadhaun Aslam opened the stage for the initial rounds of Urdu and English, respectively.

Muazzam Khan Lodhi, Momin Niazi, Hamza Tarar and Dr Tauseef Sabeeh Gondal were the adjudicators for day one of the championship. There was a splendid display of oratory expertise as the contestants shook the audience with their patriotic and passionate speeches. The contestants stressed the need for a change in society that would rid its inhabitants from stale minds and moral degeneration.

The Pashto and Punjabi rounds were held on day two, in Sinclair Hall. The Punjabi round was judged by Dr Tahir and Dr Shahida Dilawar Shah. The participants shared their views on the current political and social situation of Pakistan. The results were announced by the President of the society, Waqar Kaim. The first position was scored by Government College University, Lahore.

The Pashto round was judged by Hammad Ahmad Jan and Akhtar Karim. The Pashto speakers moved everyone in the audience with their motivational speeches. Akram Karim announced the results. Salman Marwat from Government College University secured the first position.

A total of four teams and six individuals made it to the final rounds of English and Urdu. The judges for this round were Salman Butt, Syed Farhat Ali Kazmi and Alvina Wasim for English and Hamza Tarar, Tauseef Sabeeh Gondal and GM Shah for Urdu. Faisal Kamal Haideri served as the Chief Judge for this round. All the judges who served on the adjudication panel are renowned and respected Debaters and Alumni of Forman Christian College and respected members of the Formanites Debating Society Both the contestants from the University of Punjab won the first position in the English and Urdu category. The team trophy for the competition was won by the University of Punjab. The team comprised of Huzaifa Anwar and Sibtain Raza. Souvenirs were awarded to the judges and the trophies were handed out to the participants by the Dean of Students, Cheryl Burke.